Ian McFadyen

Photo Credit: Harry Atkinson

Ian McFadyen

Ian McFadyen is the author of the Carmichael series of Murder Mystery novels, set in rural Lancashire. With eight books published to date, McFadyen has built up a strong following and is particularly well supported by library borrowers – being positioned in the top 10% of most loaned authors in the last few years. Favourably mentioned alongside Wilkie Collins and Colin Dexter, McFadyen’s titles are all available in paperback and on kindle. His first four books are available in large print and Deadly Secrets is also available in Italian. Ian is also on Twitter if you would like to get in touch: @IanMcFadyen1

Latest Book

When a stranger enters DI Carmichael’s local church, with blood on his hands claiming to have committed a murder, Carmichael and his team are quickly summoned. And when the man disappears, as mysteriously as he arrived, with few clues to his identity, where he came from and where he went, Carmichael quickly realises that all may not be as it seems. The conundrum becomes even more puzzling when, in less than 24 hours, a corpse is discovered in the boot of a Bentley car down a quiet country lane. As the body count rises Carmichael and his team remain confounded as to who is behind the murders and what motive they have for taking so many lives. In this, the eighth gripping murder mystery from the pen of Ian McFadyen, the author once again captivates the reader with an array of beguiling characters tightly woven within an intriguing, skilfully scripted plot. It will keep you guessing right until the end…

Previous Books

The Steampunk Murder Death in Winter Killing Time Deadly Secrets Frozen to Death Lillia’s Diary Little White Lies You can find or buy the books from our online shop.

By the same author

Lillia’s Diary

The body of a beautiful young Estonian woman is found in a lake in rural Lancashire. Is it murder or a tragic accident? As Inspector Steve Carmichael begins to look into the dead woman’s life, he discovers a wealth of secrets and embarks on a murder enquiry.

Lillia Monroe was a woman who had expensive tastes and apparently had the money to satisfy them. Who did she meet regularly at a local hotel? How did she finance her love of fine things? And what does her diary reveal about her liaisons and her true feelings about the men in her life?

Frozen to Death

A detective novel from the pen of Ian McFadyen, author of Little White Lies and Lillia’s Diary, featuring DI Steve Carmichael. Once again, deft plotting and subtle characterization provide an enthralling and morally searching read and a masterly update on the classic English crime novel.

Set in rural Lancashire, this quietly gripping novel takes place during a winter freeze. Heavy snows have been forecast and everyone is hunkering down. In the village of Moulton Bank, however, Detective Inspector Steve Carmichael and his wife have been invited to a Valentine?s Day dinner party given by local celebrity Caroline Lovelace, the presenter of a popular TV chatshow. Neither she nor her MP husband has ever taken any notice of the DI before, so Carmichael is feeling a little bit flattered.

Little White Lies - Ian Mcfadyen

Little White Lies

When Inspector Steve Carmichael and his family move from London to the village of Moulton Bank in rural Lancashire they all expect a quieter existence, both domestically and professionally. After a career in the Met, Steve doubts that his new post will present much of a challenge, but is pleased to escape the intrigues of his old force, and knows that the move will delight his wife Penny, who spent her childhood in Moulton Bank. However, in a matter of days a woman is murdered in the village, and Steve finds himself in charge of an investigation that casts dark shadows into the village’s past. As the case becomes increasingly complex and the Met begins to look like the quiet life, Steve finds himself drawn into intrigue, as his investigations begin to overlap with his family life in more ways than one.

Deadly Secrets

When the eminent mathematician and former government advisor Marcus Ardleigh is found hanged in his home in the sleepy Lancashire village of Moulton Bank, at first it looks to be a simple case of suicide. Very soon, however, Inspector Steve Carmichael begins to suspect that the death is altogether more complicated than it first appears.